Fact of the Day: Lox

Today’s lesser known fact comes courtesy of Nikki Segnit and her “The Flavour Thesaurus”.

Although many might think that lox is just another name for smoked salmon, in fact lox is cured in brine, and is not smoked.

Lox was taken to North America with Russian and Eastern European immigrants (late 19th century) and at about the same time, cream cheese began its popularity, hence the archetypal Jewish-American classic bagel, cream cheese and lox. YUM.

Note in the picture, the additional glories of capers (a must-try with any oily fish) and the chopped egg in the background (reminiscent of scrambled egg with smoked salmon, or scone topped with smoked salmon and the perfect little poached egg).

Picture c/o Flickr User laurapagett

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fact of the Day: Lox

  1. I simply mentioned that a number of days ago!!!

  2. I do not believe I have ever tried lox. I normally don’t care for salmon, but I will try anything once, just to be sure I am not missing out on something delicious. I have had capers though in several dishes and I think they are wonderful! 🙂

Comments are closed.