White Noise

I’m aware I haven’t written for a few days. But I have been writing … and now I know that these three little dots (…) are supposed to have a space before and after them. I received my edited manuscript a week ago and I’ve so far gone through 120 pages of the 187 page novel.

It’s okay, so far. I haven’t let myself look at the pages before I’m working on them, so each comment is a feeling of surprise and relief. (Except when I was still tantalising myself with it, a present unopened, stroking it by scrolling down and then switching it off without downloading it).

For good or for bad, I compartmentalise everything. Maybe it’s because I need structure or p’raps I’m a control freak (I know which one most people would say).

I’m happy doing it, there’s nothing wrong with it. Trouble is, there are times when the boxes into which go “Work”, “Friends”, “Boyfriend”, “Family”, and “Book” start leaking and a few overflows occur. The day job is pressured (more accurately: … is a pressurised bomb with the constant threat of explosion …), and while I’ve got other foci for my mind when I’m not at work, it’s beginning to spill into conversation at home.

In the meantime, I want to spend every minute of the day and night on my book, while Himself wants to spend every minute with me. I haven’t seen my mum in two weeks, thanks in part to the ice storm last Thursday and I’d like to repaper my bathroom with my dad.

So if you were wondering why the blogs had stopped, see above for the standard white noise that has been taking place in my blogging absence. Consider it at best to be that famous BBC TV test card image of the little girl with the blackboard, noughts & crosses (and a doll?).

This entry was posted in Books and Writing, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Noise

  1. Jane Isaac says:

    Hey Sakina!

    Whilst we miss you posts and wonderful recipes, it is totally understandable that you need to spend time with your book at this moment. You need to nuture her through the final stages, so that you are happy she is ready to be released into the world. We’ll all still be here when you are ready to blog again:)

    As for your book leaking into your world – I think this may increase as your book is released and you devote time to marketing, but it’s all great fun!

  2. Tammy Maas says:

    Hey Lady! I miss you but understand completely. For once I can say that I’ve been there and done that. Savor every moment while editing as this is the last dance….soon your book will be twirling out into the world all alone : )

  3. I have had a lengthy absence too, in April, and I found that when I returned, I was very missed. That really made me feel good! Also, I did not know that there should be a space before and after the ellipse. I love when I learn new things! 🙂

Comments are closed.