Guns and Chums; an ideal world

I admit it. I recently stuck up a post on facebook which was designed to be provocative. Facebook is so much a putrified mess of sycophancy mixed with mud slinging, I wanted to invite an actual debate involving both sides of the Atlantic. I get a lot of American political debate through the Stateside crowd, but Brits rarely have enough interest to comment.

If there’s one thing that riles us all and thoroughly divides us, it’s comment on gun laws.

Being a bleeding heart Liberal *sigh*, I take the view that guns are bad. The deaths of the two policewomen in Greater Manchester this week has enabled the endless media debates about whether or not we should routinely arm our police to begin again, but to be honest, I was relieved when it didn’t take over in the usual way. (Remember I don’t have TV; it’s possible I’ve missed the re-run of that discussion).

I just couldn’t resist.

‘Guns solve nothing.’

My friends were incensed and all who commented (especially me) were stubborn in their views (some more loudly than others).

Tammy Maas is a fellow author at Rainstorm. She’s grown up in a gun-toting world, and passionately argues for the possession and carrying of guns. Normally I would argue till the sun blew up, but over the last year, through her blog, Tammy has taught me one really big thing:

Everyone has the right to their views. If they are following the rules, not discriminating against others because of their differences in opinion, they should be allowed to speak their minds without fear of retribution.

That’s what ‘democracy’ was supposed to bequeath us. I’m with Tammy.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guns and Chums; an ideal world

  1. paleosusan says:

    Good on Tammy and Good on You! Honestly I wondered about all of this when I heard this story on our NPR. It was reported that the police were devastated but still did not want to change the policy on carrying guns. I’m not sure guns help or hurt, but what I did wonder was how many of the public in the UK is armed? (Do you know Sakina?) This criminal surely was – and from what I understand, even if the police women had been carrying guns, they probably would have still died terrible tragic deaths. I often think that I would never have the nerve to be an officer – you would never know what you were approaching when you stopped some car for a traffic violation. What a hard job.

  2. Tammy Maas says:

    I have to admit I was frightened to have the conversation. But like you said, it’s our differences that make the world an interesting place. I’ve learned so much from friends across the pond – especially that we don’t have to be the same or like the same things to get along.

    You are a peach Sakina and the world doesn’t deserve you. You are kind and good – like Sandy in ‘Grease’ before she went all leather at the end. I hope you can keep those qualities for the rest of your life.

    • Er… Tammy, I am a peach ( LOL) but I am not as wishy washy as Sandy! I am an argumentative so and so and I love it when people bite! Your posts about Chik-fil-a really made me think and I always try to remember those points when I am in the middle of a melee (of my own creation)!

  3. Susan – I don’t know the stats, but I know that ‘they’ looked at length into the issues around gun control here when Derek Bird shot a bunch of people here in Cumbria a couple of years ago. Sure, some of the population is armed legally, and some is armed illegally. There is a lot of organised crime (if you are to believe the media rumours), some of it stemming from IRA and other terrorist connections; some from sources, and this is where the armed issue comes most into play. We have armed response police here, SWAT, if you like. They have screwed up several times, including killing a man who was carrying a table leg that they identified as a sawn-off shotgun. We regulate the public and we regulate the police. I feel safer, but I don’t know if that is because I am willfully naive/ignorant of the real threat. My dad was a policeman for 30 years, and he came back alive from every shift. Old skool. 😉

Comments are closed.