Carrot Cake Take 1

I’ve spent the day being hugely productive, although I don’t feel as though I’ve achieved anything much. Looking back, I did 2.5 hours working in home care, 3.5 hours writing for money, 4 hours trying to figure out Twitter, and another 2 hours this evening working, followed by a 45 minute telephone conversation and an experimental carrot cake (these last two simultaneously). The rest of the time was wasted, but in a ‘now’ way. Consciously enjoying the feeling of being present.

I guess I feel a little incomplete today, but not in any negative way. I think it is the Twitter effect. It jangles my head, a little like being in a crowd of people. I’m not great in crowds. Makes me uneasy, which is another way I want to describe the feeling. People come at you from all angles. It’s a new bullet to bite. Bit like trying to bite the bullets from an AK47.

Anyhow, the important bit was the carrot cake. Bear with me. I need to cut into it, decide if its worth icing, ice it (if applicable), and present it to my camera.

<<cue lift music>>

Okay. I don’t mind showing disasters, but honestly, this one isn’t worth a photo.carrot cake disaster See? (There’s only half of it there – the rest came off in my fingers … said the Actress to the Bishop).

If it wasn’t for the wonderful flavours, I wouldn’t entertain it again.

It tastes of cinnamon, allspice, earthy walnut (bottom notes) and a sweet coffee/maple over-note. There’s even a strongly accented bourbon. None of the above are in the recipe.

The whole thing was probably around 1200 calories in all (mainly the nuts), not bad for a cake. No flour (so edging on gluten free), no fat, just eggs, sugar and carrots.

The next time I make this, it will be a pudding in a basin. Maybe steam it. It’ll even go with a rum sauce.

Carrot Cake Weirdness, courtesy of Rose Elliot’s Book of Cakes (with a few differences) circa  1984.

Oven on 180 deg C. Separate two eggs into two different bowls. add 30g molasses/super dark sugar, 70g white caster sugar to the yolks and whisk or stick blend till light.

Chop 100g walnuts into bits and add that and 100g grated carrot to the mix. Beat together.

Whisk the egg whites until they’re foamy and stand up in peaks.

By hand, do this by repeatedly whisking the foam. Never dig deeply to the bottom where the remaining liquid white is as it slows progress. If it was going to foam it would have already done so.

Fold in the egg whites to the rest of the cake mixture evenly. One of my major mistakes was distributing the foam with most of it on one side. I was scared of accidentally beating the air out. One side of the cake rose; the other didn’t.

Pour it into a greased/lined 20cm tin (I will never do it this way again) or into a super-greased pudding basin and bake for around 30 minutes.

Tomorrow: carrot cake take 2.

About Sakina Murdock

Greedy, creative, gregarious bird, writing from the bonny northern hills of Cumbria's Eden. There's a lot of soul in this place and the inspiration to create is everywhere, even on the bleakest days. Soulfood. Don't just subsist.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.