Now for some goslings … or; who doesn’t find goslings cute and funny?!

Who wants to know about goslings?! *kicks dust, looks at feet* Okay, I know no one is interested, but humour me here. You don’t have to work with me every day telling tales of funny goslings. As a proud Mama Goose, I initially wasn’t able to stop talking about them, but from the disappointing responses of my colleagues and customers, I guessed you had to be there, so this is possibly my only outlet for my pride.

Tomorrow a roll of chickenwire and I have a date with the goose trailer. The eggs under the geese are set to hatch this weekend, and I’ve had to leave the safety session late because of deadlines. Goodness knows if we’re going to get any hatchlings out of it, bearing in mind the way the geese have been behaving. Even at this late stage, Himself found an egg on the ground today which had been thrown out of the nest by Blueleg. I’m a little worried that the eggs are cheeping and the silly goose is chucking them out because she thinks they shouldn’t be making a noise.

Anyway, here: have some goslings.

The large one nearby is my little gander. His mate is 'playing' with the rosemary bunch hanging from the ceiling. I say 'playing' because geeses and goslings don't really have a sense of humour.

The large one nearby is my little gander. His mate is ‘playing’ with the rosemary bunch hanging from the ceiling. I say ‘playing’ because geeses and goslings don’t really have a sense of humour.

More rosemary grabbing

Quick, everybody preen!

Rosemary crunches in a very satisfactory way when you actually get hold of it in your beak.

Rosemary crunches in a very satisfactory way when you actually get hold of it in your beak.

1-2 week olds, playing with rosemary

More preening.

See how gander’s back is becoming white and fluffy? That’s his new down coming through. See where it’s all pink? That’s where his mate has been pulling out his down (first yellow, now white), presumably because she’s bored. Hence the rosemary, to keep her amused. It’s just a bit above her head, so the others don’t all eat it.

Hey! I brought that for you to eat, not to sleep on!

Hey! I brought that for you to eat, not to sleep on!

They all cuddle up to gander because he is the biggest. And his naughty goose has her head touching his (first two heads on the right hand side). By the way, anyone within driving distance that fancies having a couple of geese, let me know. They’ll be 8-10 weeks old in no time. The age that geese like to go places.

The blonde ones are extremely bossy.

The blonde ones are extremely bossy.

Look at the one on the right hand side of the group. It has fallen asleep face down. They do that a lot when they're little.

The one on the right hand side of the group has fallen asleep face down. They do that a lot when they’re little. Even one of its legs are stretched out.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now for some goslings … or; who doesn’t find goslings cute and funny?!

  1. ellamedler says:

    So cute! 🙂

Comments are closed.