Weird rice bake thing … chilli con carne mixed up with the rice. And cheese. Lots of cheese.

Um … I’m not a fan of baby food for adults, where everything is pulped together. Soup is one thing. Good chilli congealed with rice, whilst containing much of the starchy comfort factor, isn’t my best effort. However, I made it, and ate the dratted thing for three days because I didn’t think about quantities properly.

in the pan

While making it, I lost leave of my senses.  The recipe called for 1lb (500g) beef mince and 6oz rice. I had 300g mince. So when I measured out the rice, what did I do? Why, increased it of course. DUH. Hence the stodgy mush instead of the looser bake it should have been.

In case you’re brave enough to trust the quantities I give you, I’ve noted the recipe below.

In the dish

Chilli Rice Bake

Tip: use a large non-stick saucepan.

1lb / 500g beef mince browned with an onion, a hefty quantity of garlic, and plenty of green bell pepper.

Tip a few teaspoons of cumin powder into the mix, 1-2 tsps chilli powder, stir like crazy so you don’t burn the spices, and get a heaped tablespoon of tomato puree, a can of chopped tomatoes, and half a can of red kidney beans slung into the pan and stirred in.

Add about 300ml water or stock and heave in about 6oz uncooked white rice. All on a medium heat.  Salt.

Cover if possible, the rice cooks quicker. It should take around 30 minutes from browning the meat onwards.

Heat the oven to around 190*C/375*F/Gas Mark 5.

When the rice is cooked, tip the casserole stuff into a baking dish, press it down and grate masses of strong cheddar cheese on top. Bake for about 15 minutes.

It did work, but it was my fault the texture wasn’t to my liking. It tasted good. Good luck.

 

About Sakina Murdock

Greedy, creative, gregarious bird, writing from the bonny northern hills of Cumbria's Eden. There's a lot of soul in this place and the inspiration to create is everywhere, even on the bleakest days. Soulfood. Don't just subsist.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.