Annalisa M Dahlen presents: Bubble & Reek. Don’t try this at home. Closely followed by Caramel Corn.

As you may remember, I promised you a recipe for caramel corn in this week’s installment of Soulsubsistence.  Due to a cooking mishap last night in the oven, I was not able to make it and post pictures of the yummy goodness.

You see, for dinner yesterday I decided to make pork loin with raspberry & walnut glaze.  Apparently I was too generous with the glaze over the top of the pork and it bubbled over while cooking in the oven.  The house smelled of burned fruit.  GREAT.

RECIPE FOR DISASTERBetween then and now I forgot all about that, because let’s face it, once I’m done using the oven, I don’t really keep it top of mind until a day later when I want to cook again.  Cleaning it?  RIGHT.  Not exactly on my radar.

So fast forward to tonight, I air pop the popcorn, layer it in my shiny aluminum pans and preheat the oven to 250*.  I lay the pans in so they keep the popcorn warm.  I walk away momentarily.  I return to find­ smoke pouring through the top burners and doing this hazy, swirl thing towards the ceiling.  I quickly turn on the overhead fan and open the window,  And HEY, it smells like burned fruit in the house again, excellent!

Here is a handy recipe I found on the Good Housekeeping site for cleaning your oven with normal household items.  You will need:

·        Metal spatula
·        Full-strength ammonia
·        Spray bottle
·        Baking soda
·        Sponge
·        Sense of Humor (optional)

Go for it.  http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/home/cleaning-organizing/degrease-your-range

Now let’s get down to it.

Caramel Corn

It’s happening.  GET IN MY BELLY.

You will need:
Cooking spray
4 quarts / 8 pints popped popcorn (plain) – I air pop mine
1 cup / 8 oz brown sugar
½ cup / 240 ml / 16 tblsp light or dark corn syrup
½ cup / 1 block butter
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 250*F / 120* C.  Pop popcorn.  Spray your baking tin(s) with the cooking spray.  I bought aluminum tins at the local dollar store.  Layer in popcorn (not too deep).  Set popcorn tins in oven to keep them warm.

it started so well

In a medium pot, melt the butter, brown sugar, salt, and corn syrup together.  Bring to a soft boil (it will gently bubble) for about 5 minutes without stirring.  Remove from heat and add baking soda and vanilla.  Stir.

Pour caramel over popcorn and stir to coat evening.  DO NOT LICK THE SPOON UNTIL THE CARAMEL HAS COOLED SOMEWHAT.  I hope you read that.  I don’t want you to become a cautionary tale.

Bake caramel corn in the oven for about 45 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Remove and pour mix onto cooking sprayed tin foil.  Break caramel corn into pieces.  Let it cool.  Store in airtight container (yeah, RIGHT!).  At this point you can either a) horde it for yourself much like  Gollum from Lord of the Rings, or b) share it like the very nice person you are.

About Sakina Murdock

Greedy, creative, gregarious bird, writing from the bonny northern hills of Cumbria's Eden. There's a lot of soul in this place and the inspiration to create is everywhere, even on the bleakest days. Soulfood. Don't just subsist.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.