The Carved Angel’s Gunpowder Hot Garlic Pickle

Gunpowder pickleAll hail ye who love garlic and also love pickle!

Here I hoped for a spicy pickle with garlic’s punchy pungency. A little like Patak’s Garlic Pickle, and savoury. Well, (not for the first time), I was wrong! At least it was a nice surprise.

In terms of lexicon, I would call this chutney. The Carved Angel’s Gunpowder Hot Garlic Pickle is more reminiscent of jam than pickle, except that it does have that heady sweet-sour smell that pickled garlic extrudes.

It’s very sweet. If you’re not the type to eat sweet with savoury food, it isn’t going to work unless you’re prepared to have it with creme fraiche. The trouble is, it is sweet with savoury, all in itself.  I suspect it will pair beautifully with soft and creamy cheeses. Happy days! The Carved Angel Gunpowder Hot Garlic Pickle

I tried it with some spiced lamb and the meat carried the flavour really well, but it might overpower ham or chicken. And speaking of spice …

Hot it ain’t; not by my standards. Not by any standards from what I can tell so far, but I maybe haven’t eaten enough to see. I checked the ingredients and found that the heat is apparently due to the mustard seeds, so it’s a mustard-based pickle, similar to picallili. If I find different after I’ve eaten half the jar, I’ll update this post.

UPDATE: I take it back. It has a lovely warming spiciness that heats up as you eat it! Try it with cheese! Yum heaven!

My one proper criticism is the use of maize starch in the recipe. The product description suggests that as well as eating it with meat and cheese, you can throw it into just cooked king prawns or mix with mayonnaise to make a dip. It reminds me of chilli jam, and that doesn’t seem to contain as much starch and has just as many uses.

The starch gives the sauce a weird, almost creepy body and it makes me wonder why they didn’t just market it as premium garlic jam and leave the starch out of it. I guess the garlic would sink to the bottom, maybe wouldn’t be such an attractive product.

And yes, it is totally delicious. And no I’m not paid to endorse. It just is. I was looking for a premium product to treat myself with, and this is what I chose. Yummy!

If I ever come into a glut of garlic, I know what I’ll be making!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.