Juicing queen!

Oh yes, I’m a lucky lass indeed! My brother gave me a juicer for my birthday, and of course, I’m duty-bound to share with you my disasters and my triumphs!

pear ginger and broccoli juice 1

There have been some big changes this year in Soulsubsistence Land, and one of those changes has been the rise of IBS. I suspected I had it for a while, but when it finally hit me properly, it changed the way I view food.

I don’t enjoy food being the enemy, so I constantly keep my eye out for ways in which I can improve the situation. Unfortunately, what I have found is that the only solution to IBS seems to be eating less. This is very sad for someone who was always a comfort eater. I constantly misjudge how much I can eat, and the result of this is a great deal of discomfort for many hours. *sad face*.

However, there’s a silver lining in every cloud, and at least I’m now approximately the same weight I was at age 12! Fear not, I was never exactly a skinny kid, but to me, 9 st 6 lb is the greatest thing to come out of IBS!

The juicing idea came from the fact that I know I should eat; I know I want to eat; but I don’t want the pain. Or the trapped wind. Or anything else in the bowel region.

I figured, if I can take the nutrients from super-fresh vegetables and at least get those down me, I will be able to offset at least some of the symptoms of IBS without letting my immune system drop me in it.

So, the latest efforts have been:

1. Broccoli, apple, and spinach juice.
Half a head of broccoli, 3 x braeburn apples, and most of a bag of spinach. Add to ice.

This one gave me a buzz similar to the happy high you get if you drink Diet Coke fast through a straw, and with enough apples, it didn’t taste too much like broccoli. Brassicas can be a bit difficult to palate, but apple seems to smooth everything off, so sweetly.

A bonus for this one was that I scooped out some of the mix, razzed it up with some self-raising flour and a bit of oil, and a lot of grated cheese, and it made superb cheese and broccoli scones! Who knew?!

2. Pear, ginger, and broccoli.
7 conference pears, too much ginger (less is more), and the other half head of broccoli. More ice.

pear ginger and broccoli juice 3This one, I have to admit, wasn’t the best to begin with. There was a lot of funky stuff that seemed to be suspended in the juice. You can see it in the image. However, I poured it through a jelly bag (fine mesh bag for making jam jellies) and improved it exponentially. It also produced a lot of juice, which was a good thing.

 

3. Grapefruit and orange juice.
2 ruby grapefruits and 2 oranges, all peeled.

This one obviously produced the most juice; you’d expect that. However, it also needed a filter for the funky stuff. Without the filter it was a bit thick in the mouth, if that makes any sense.

The weirdest thing I’m finding is that every effort produces a weird froth on top that doesn’t disappear over time, although I suspect that stirring may help.

pear ginger and broccoli juice 2If you’ve got any great ideas for combinations, please let me know! The battle against IBS continues!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.